Google can help but it needs your knowledge before it can 

I’ve just written a blog in which I talked about being taught to paint. As the artist was a crucial part of that blog, I wanted to use his name in the blog but I couldn’t for the life of me remember what that was.  So, I decided to use my 21st century skills (!!) and fired up Google. And then I was stuck! The search terms I used didn’t bring up the information I needed. “Family events at National Gallery” brought up events happening now, not the ones from years ago. Similarly, searching for “Artist in residence National Gallery” was of no help either. I thought to myself that this was silly; I should try and remember what I know of this artist and then, maybe, Google would be able to throw up his name. So, what knowledge did I have of this artist?

1. I knew he was from South Africa

2. I knew he lived in London at that time

3. If I remembered correctly, then his name began with “A”

4. I knew he had studied in Rome and Paris

5. I knew he had exhibited in New York

I started searching using the above and got

The first search result wasn’t what I was looking for. I then clicked the second,”List of South African artists-Wikipedia”. I started scrolling through the list and finally came to letter K and there it was-Ansel Krut. The name was familiar and it began with A! I decided to search for images.


Pay dirt!

So, Google did help but only after I used knowledge I had stored in some corner of my brain!

Hirsch is right; Google isn’t an equal opportunity fact finder! 

Today (3rd March 2017) I came across this tweet which I just had to add here. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Google can help but it needs your knowledge before it can 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.